Marks-Quitman County Library Card Requirements
 
 
To obtain a permanent Library card with the Marks-Quitman County Library, the new Library patron needs to  present one (1) picture ID (identification) that shows the Library patron lives in Quitman County, Mississippi.

Acceptable Picture ID (identification) are:
  • Driver's License
  • School or College ID
  • State Issued ID
  • Selective Service Card
If the new Library patron does not have a Picture ID (Identification), the new Library patron can present two (2) proofs of living (of residency) in Quitman County, Mississippi.

Acceptable Proofs of Living (of Residency) are:
  • Current utility bill with name and address
  • Checkbook with name and address
  • Current tax receipt
  • Apartment or house lease
  • Mortgage document
  • Filed homestead exemption
  • Automobile registration
  • Voter registration card with address
  • Envelopes with name, address, and current postmark (within 30 days)

The Dancing Rabbit Consortium card (from surrounding libraries) is accepted at the Marks-Quitman County Library in Marks.  As such, the new Library patron can use the Dancing Rabbit card (from the surrounding libraries), until the new Library patron can meet the requirements for a permanent Library card.

A prospective new Library patron also can request a temporary Library card, which will be good for one month. 

Library visitors from other counties and/or out of state are issued the same temporary Library card until the permanent Library card is obtained.



Privileges and Responsibilities
  • $500.00 fine, six months in jail for misuse or failure to return library materials (Mississippi Code 1972, 39-3-309, 1989 SUP)
  • Records maintained by any library funded in whole or in part by public funds, which contain information relating to the identity of a library user, relative to the user's use of books or other materials at the library, shall be confidential.  Such records may only be released with the express written permission of the respective library user or as the result of a court order.  (Mississippi Code 1972, 39-3-365).
  • By state law, library employees cannot share information, with regard to materials, with anyone other than that patron.  This applies to parents, children, spouses and other family members.  This applies to materials checked out by a patron or books on hold for a patron.  One must have the library card in order to review what items are checked out on that card or to pick up books being held on that card.  (Laws, 1992, ch. 521,1)
  • You may have up to 5 items checked out on your library card at a time.  The library reserves the right to limit checkouts.
  • Books and CDs can be checked out for 2 weeks.
  • For materials retrieved through our interlibrary loan (ILL) process, the loan period varies depending on the lender.
  • Call 662-326-7141 to update your contact information.
  • You are responsible for all materials borrowed on your library card or that of your child.

www.librarywebsites.com